About cookies

The NCETM site uses cookies. Read more about our privacy policy

Please agree to accept our cookies. If you continue to use the site, we'll assume you're happy to accept them.

Personal Learning Login

Register with the NCETM

SEN Forum

Only logged in users can post to this forum.

How to differentiate for students with dyscalculia

AClem 21 November 2012 11:53
Posts5
Joined19/09/12
 Hi
I'm a PGCE trainee, with very little knowledge of special needs.  I have a student in my year 10 class with dyscalculia.  The class teacher I have taken the class from provides no differentiation for this student at all.  However, it is clear that she simply cannot follow the tasks we are doing in class.  We've recently been covering nth term in sequences, and I thought appropriate differentiation for her would be to give her a worksheet asking her just to complete the next 3 terms of a linear sequence.  However, she struggles even with very basic addition / counting, so even that wasn't very successful (she found it very difficult to spot the pattern.  For example, in a sequence that started 3, 5, 7, 9.... she thought the sequence was going up in 3's).  I really want to help this student, but feel I lack the expertise.  Are they specific resources that anyone can recommend.

Thanks for listening
Link to this Post   Report this post Report this post

dmorris1 21 November 2012 13:31
Posts39
Joined28/09/12
Hi,
I would start by caring out a careful base line assessment, a useful tool is the Sandwell Early Numeracy Test, this is a standardised test which measures from P6 - NC Level 2C and is available from GL Assessments - cost around £120.
It is a child friendly 1:1 assessment, verbal, with minimal recording. it is both a summative and formative test and will give you some very useful information on language skills, value computation, oral and object counting.