Meet the team

Find out more about current NCETM team members with their areas of responsibility

Senior Leadership Team

The NCETM’s Senior Leadership Team is formed by the directors of each strand area. They form the strategic leadership.
Image Description

Charlie Stripp

Director

Charlie has been the NCETM’s Director since 2013. He represents the NCETM nationally and internationally and often presents at conferences and events.


charlie.stripp@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Sue Madgwick

Deputy Director and Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation

Sue joined the NCETM as Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation, and became Deputy Director in 2019. She previously worked in maths teacher training and for her LA.


sue.madgwick@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Debbie Morgan

Director for Primary Mathematics

Formerly a primary headteacher, LA advisor and university lecturer, Debbie has been the NCETM’s Director for Primary Mathematics since 2012.


debbie.morgan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Carol Knights

Director for Secondary Mathematics

After teaching and leading maths at secondary school and university level, Carol began working for MEI, and later the NCETM. She leads on all the NCETM’s work for secondary schools.


carol.knights@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

John Westwell

Director for System Leadership

John has been a secondary school head of maths, and held advisor and policy positions in local and national organisations. He joined the NCETM in 2012, and has led the Maths Hubs Programme since its launch in 2014.


john.westwell@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Steve McCormack

Communications Director

A former journalist, Steve spent a few years as a secondary school maths teacher before joining the NCETM in 2013. He leads on all the NCETM’s external communications.


steve.mccormack@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Tina Cooke

PA to Leadership Team

Before joining the NCETM in 2007, Tina worked as an office manager. She now provides support in all areas to the leadership team.


tina.cooke@ncetm.org.uk

Primary Team

Image Description

Debbie Morgan

Director for Primary Mathematics

Formerly a primary headteacher, LA advisor and university lecturer, Debbie has been the NCETM’s Director for Primary Mathematics since 2012.


debbie.morgan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Liz Lambert

Assistant Director for Primary

A former primary headteacher and consultant, Liz now works on the NCETM’s Mastery Readiness and Mastery Specialists programmes, as well as developing professional development materials.


elizabeth.lambert@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Emma Patman

Assistant Director for Primary

Previously a primary teacher, maths lead and senior leader, Emma is now involved with several national projects including Mastery Readiness and Primary Mastery Specialists.


emma.patman@ncetm.org.uk

Secondary Team

Image Description

Carol Knights

Director for Secondary

After teaching and leading maths at secondary school and university level, Carol began working for MEI, and later the NCETM. She leads on all the NCETM’s work for secondary schools.


carol.knights@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Howard Astley-Jones

Assistant Director for Secondary (Level 3 Maths and AMSP)

Howard was previously a Maths Hub Lead, and is now a link coordinator between the NCETM, Advanced Maths Support Programme (AMSP) and Maths Hubs, focusing on Level 3 maths.


howard.astley-jones@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Pete Griffin

Assistant Director for Secondary

Having worked as a secondary maths teacher and then an advisor, Pete joined the NCETM in 2006. He works across a range of secondary projects including the Mastery Specialists Programme.


pete.griffin@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Mary Stevenson

Assistant Director for Secondary

Mary previously taught and led maths at secondary and university level, including PGCE programmes. She works across a range of projects including the Secondary Mastery Specialists Programme, and with initial teacher education (ITE) providers.


mary.stevenson@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Andy Tharratt

Assistant Director for Secondary (Level 3 Maths and AMSP)

Following a career in maths education spanning over thirty years, Andy now focuses on coordinating links between the NCETM, the Maths Hubs and the Advanced Maths Support Programme (AMSP).


andrew.tharratt@ncetm.org.uk

System Leadership Team

Image Description

John Westwell

Director for System Leadership

John has been a secondary school head of maths, and held advisor and policy positions in local and national organisations. He joined the NCETM in 2012, and has led the Maths Hubs Programme since its launch in 2014.


john.westwell@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Chris Dale

Senior Regional Lead

Chris previously held senior positions at school, local authority and multi-academy trust level. He now works closely with all hubs, particularly Cambridge, Matrix, Angles, London North East, Kent and Medway, and Venn Essex.


chris.dale@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Heidi Whitney

Senior Regional Lead

After almost 25 years’ experience of teaching and advising on maths in KS1 to KS5, Heidi joined the NCETM in 2018. She works with all the hubs, particularly London South West, London Thames, Surrey Plus, Solent, and Sussex.


heidi.whitney@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Gaynor Bahan

Regional Lead (Lancashire and West Yorkshire)

Gaynor taught and lectured in 11-18 maths for over 15 years before joining the NCETM in 2018. She is the NCETM link to five hubs: North West One, Turing NW, North West Three, Abacus, and West Yorkshire.


gaynor.bahan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Annabelle Grose

Regional Lead (South West)

Formerly a primary headteacher, Annabelle joined the NCETM in 2018. She is the NCETM link to five hubs: CODE, Jurassic, Boolean, GLOW, and Mobius.


annabelle.grose@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Matt Lewis

Regional Lead (NW London and South Central England)

Matt worked at secondary school and local authority level for over 20 years and joined the NCETM in 2018. He is the NCETM link to five hubs: Enigma, London Central and NW, London Central and West, London South East, and Bucks, Berks and Oxon.


matt.lewis@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Barbara Rodgers

Regional Lead (West Midlands)

Previously a Maths Hub Lead, Barbara joined the NCETM in 2018. She is the NCETM link to five hubs: Cheshire and Wirral, Central, SHaW, North Mids, and Origin.


barbara.rodgers@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Paul Treversh

Regional Lead (North of England and Yorkshire Ridings)

After working as a local authority adviser and consultant, Paul joined the NCETM in 2018. He is the NCETM link to four hubs: Great North, Archimedes NE, North North West, and Yorkshire Ridings.


paul.treversh@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Margaret Young

Regional Lead (East Midlands and Humber)

Having worked as a consultant in both England and Australia, Margaret joined the NCETM in 2018. She is the NCETM link to five hubs: East Midlands East, East Midlands West, East Midlands South, Yorkshire and the Humber, and South Yorkshire.


margaret.young@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Claire Taylor

Maths Hubs Programme Coordinator

Previously a teacher of humanities and senior leader, Claire joined the NCETM in 2018. She oversees the work of the Maths Hubs Programme and its delivery across all 40 hubs in England.


claire.taylor@ncetm.org.uk

Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation Team

Image Description

Sue Madgwick

Deputy Director and Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation

Sue joined the NCETM as Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation, and became Deputy Director in 2019. She previously worked in maths teacher training and for her LA.


sue.madgwick@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Viv Lloyd

Assistant Director (PD Leadership and Evaluation)

Viv’s background is in Early Years and primary, where she has worked as a deputy head, as well as leading PGCE programmes at university level. Her NCETM role focuses on EYFS and ITE projects.


viv.lloyd@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Jen Shearman

Principal Evaluator (Associate)

Jen works for the NCETM alongside her role working on the Maths PGCE at Canterbury Christ Church University. As Principal Evaluator, she coordinates the national evaluation of the Maths Hub projects.


jen.shearman@ncetm.org.uk

Communications Team

Image Description

Steve McCormack

Communications Director

A former journalist, Steve spent a few years as a secondary school maths teacher before joining the NCETM in 2013. He leads on all the NCETM’s external communications.


steve.mccormack@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Beth Goodliff

Communications Manager

Previously a secondary teacher of English and senior leader, Beth joined the NCETM in 2018. She leads on supporting the Maths Hubs with their marketing, communications and websites.


bethanie.goodliff@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Gwen Tresidder

Communications Manager

Previously a secondary maths teacher and university ITE tutor, Gwen joined the NCETM in 2016. She leads on supporting the Primary and Secondary teams with external communications.


gwen.tresidder@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Sam Radford

Digital and Technology Manager

With a background as an IT manager, Sam joined the NCETM in 2009. He leads on the implementation and use of technology to support the work of the NCETM and Maths Hubs.


sam.radford@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Andrew Young

Web Content Administrator

Andrew previously worked in investment banking customer service and digital mapping for a utility firm. He joined the NCETM at its inception in 2006, and develops social media and online content.


andrew.young@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Liam Benson

Design and Digital Marketing Officer

With a background in digital marketing and graphic design, Liam joined the NCETM in 2017, and leads on the creative visual branding for all online and print media.


liam.benson@ncetm.org.uk

Business Support Team

Image Description

Kate Hunt

Project Manager

Prior to working for the NCETM, Kate built up her own business, and worked as a headteacher’s PA. She now oversees the NCETM’s projects and events.


kate.hunt@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Fiona Houchin

Business Support Manager

Fiona has worked as a project coordinator and training administrator in a range of sectors. She now manages the Business Support Team and leads on developing and maintaining effective processes.


fiona.houchin@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Victoria Allen

Business Support Officer

An experienced business coordinator having had roles in investment and insurance firms, Victoria supports all the NCETM strands to provide programme-wide and financial administration.


victoria.allen@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Jenny Murray

Business Support Officer

Jenny has worked in a variety of industries including charity, HR and financial services. She joined the NCETM in 2019 and provides administrative support including event management.


jenny.murray@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Stephanie Tyas

Business Support Officer

With a background in communications including in the retail sector, Steph now provides support across the NCETM and Maths Hubs, including organising events and webinars.


stephanie.tyas@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Rachel York

Senior Business Support Officer

Rachel has worked for Public Health and the National Childbirth Trust in senior administrative roles. Her role now involves coordinating financial administration of the Maths Hub Network Fund.


rachel.york@tribalgroup.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Primary & Early Years Round-up
Secondary Round-up
National Newsletter

A collaborative national network developing and spreading excellent practice, for the benefit of all pupils and students.

Stay connected